Reviews of Restaurant OTTO Locanda in Singapore

32 Maxwell Road, #01-03, 069115 Singapore Show telephone number →

121 reviews
Write a review →
"Simple and Nice"
Friday 31/10/2014

Booking this restaurant under Restaurant Week has not been easy and it didn't disappoint us. The atmosphere is simple and unpretentious. We actually enjoyed this more than its more illustrious sister restaurant. Best dish has to go to the cod fish. Overall, this restaurant is definitely better than a number of restaurants with star.

Yen Seng Cheah
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Service needs improvement. Food good. Ambiance medium"
Friday 31/10/2014

Food ok. Service average. Hard to get their attention. Bounce can be improved, seats uncomfortable, some parts too sunny, window faces a construction site wall. Ugh.

Rich
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Simply Outstanding"
Friday 31/10/2014

The food is amazingly good and considering there is no surcharge. This is really value for money. The Cod Fish and the Pasta for mains are really tasty and you must try to believe it.

The dessert is wow.... and the price of expresso is $5 (can't get better coffee in this setting and price).

Kooka Burra
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Mrs"
Thursday 30/10/2014

Enjoyed the food a lot!

HS Lee
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Set Menu is GREAT value"
Thursday 30/10/2014

Food is good (beef was well executed but underseasoned, dessert was so-so, but the rest was very good). For a SGD25 set lunch, it is a great value.

Pam
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Worth anothet visit"
Thursday 30/10/2014

Great food, great service! Will return again!

Diane Kee
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Does not fail to disappoint"
Wednesday 29/10/2014

Otto Locanda and Otto Ristorante have never failed to disappoint every time I go to either restaurant! The risotto ball on beef ragu appetiser was good and the squid ink pasta with lobster portion was a bit small but yummy. What really stood out for the night were the lamb cutlets and panna cotta! The chef nailed the medium on the lamb and it was seasoned to perfection. The panna cotta looked deceptively mass-produced but oh, it has to be one of the best I've ever tasted!!! The only disappointment of the night was not being able to order the octopus from the a la carte menu as they had run out. Very attentive wait staff. Awesome experience as always!

Samuel
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Nice place with warm service"
Wednesday 29/10/2014

The food are pretty nice, in terms of taste and freshness. Though not the nicest that I have tasted. The atmosphere was good. The staff are very friendly and nice, just that they might be a little too busy and forgotten our wine order. But overall was not bad

Vianne
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Lovely dinner "
Tuesday 28/10/2014

Everything from ushering to the table, food, drinks, water top up, timing, exit were perfect. I had a wonderful relaxed dinner and will definitely be back after the restaurant week.

Mae
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Good as always"
Tuesday 28/10/2014

Not the first time I've been here on restaurant week. I have always found this place to be good value, with very attentive and accommodating staff. Food is solid though just shy of "excellent". Worth visiting.

W Ong
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Pleasantly surprised"
Tuesday 28/10/2014

OTTO has had fantastic reviews previously; and it is for this very reason that I was rather apprehensive at the start. After all, restaurants have tended to disappoint after being rated well. Nevertheless, I decided to take the chance.
The Italian cuisine was probably one of the best Italian food I've tasted in Singapore. It reminded me of Italy. Thanks to the restaurant manager Giusti and the rest of the staff for the good service! I will definitely come back for more.

The beef, was like chunks of heaven.

Samantha
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Good Food but tad too much tomatoes"
Tuesday 28/10/2014

Every dish had tomatoes as an ingredient, which felt a little too much for a seating. Individually the dishes were quite tasty though. Service was good, there were a few moments when our water was not topped up for a while but no major issues.

J
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Good service"
Tuesday 28/10/2014

The food is good, especially the appetizer.
Service is also very good.

Kate
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"A good one"
Tuesday 28/10/2014

Good environment, staffs are friendly. We've tried the restaurant week lunch set, three of us ordered the beef and it's quite tasty. The only demerit is we ordered the paired wine but they forgot until we remind them again.

David
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Tuesday 28/10/2014

it was a nice dining experience

sokying
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Excellent service and great food"
Sunday 26/10/2014

We had a table of 8 pax for birthday lunch celebration. Service was excellent - when the beef striploin was served, the service staff could sense the discomfort of my guest on seeing red. He immediately informed my guest that d beef would be re-prepared. My guest was so impressed by the attentiveness of the service staff. The other guests were full of praise for the tenderness and juiciness of the beef. The red snapper that I had was fresh and succulent. Portion was value for money. When dessert was served, another of my guest was not used to the rich milky taste of the White Choco Mousse. The service staff could sensed her discomfort and offered her homemade chocolate ice-cream. My guest was touched and impressed. I also ordered another homemade mango sorbet, which was good too! My guests have agreed that they will be back for more occassions. Well-done, OTTO, for the consistent service and food quality! Thank you for the great birthday lunch.

Mary Goh
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Lovely food in a cosy restaurant!"
Sunday 26/10/2014

First time trying OTTO Locanda and we were a little apprehensive when we arrived as we were the only ones. Luckily, customers came soon after.

Nothing to shout about the bread they served but the rest of the dishes more than make up for it. The starter of risotto with beef ragout was tasty and flavorful.

Next, the two of us had the baked cod, and squid ink pasta. The cod fish was chunky and fresh; loved the broth too! The squid ink pasta was al dente and the basil sauce complemented the pasta.

We ended our meal on a sweet note with the vanilla pannacotta. It was good but would be better of there was more dimension to the dessert as it got a bit gelat towards the end.

All in all, OTTO Locanda was a good choice and I would definitely be back!

Potter
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Give it a Star. "
Sunday 26/10/2014

The distinction between restaurants with and without a Dining Star has the unfortunate effect of positioning some of the non-starred restaurants as a lesser experience, although surely unintentional. We booked Otto Locanda after reading the reviews on the place but still took care to temper our excitement lest it disappointed. Lo: we needn't have worried. The restaurant was top notch in every sense - the wait staff were incredibly polite and attentive, the setting was chic, and the food was exquisite. I wasn't expecting to be blown away given the description on the menu, but I was. Who'd have thought plain bread could taste so good?

My partner and I both went for the char grilled beef sirloin, which was a fantastic choice. The chef recommended it in medium, so we went with that. I don't want to fall into the cliche of labeling a cut of beef tender, but tender it was. The meat was infused with this incredibly subtle smoky flavor and went really well with the sauce they paired it with. I'd dined at a couple of other similarly ranked restaurants (no names, though!) the previous week and the beef here blew those out of the water. The portions are generous too - way more than you'd expect from a twenty dollar lunch.

The dessert was alright, but then again it's hard to top that beef. The custard and crumble was delicious, but the sauce reminded us most unfortunately of cough syrup. This in no way detracted from the overall experience though, and we left the restaurant feeling very, very satisfied and pleased with ourselves.

I only took off half a star for atmosphere because there was some renovations going on outside the restaurant that blocked the entire view - it's no fault of Otto's, but it was still slightly distracting to face a window of blue construction paper.

Still, it was overall an extremely gratifying and - dare i say it? - value for money lunch. This place deserves it's own dining star!

Jemimah
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Excellent"
Sunday 26/10/2014

This is one of the best experience that I had with all the restaurants that I have been. It made me wanting to go back for the dinner serving. It's worth the while of checking the restaurant week website frequently to see if there's available slot.

Lynn Chua
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Superb experience "
Sunday 26/10/2014

Walked in with every staff greeting you along the way with smiles. Food get served pretty quickly and staffs always ensure if guests are satisfied with their food. Food portions are pretty filling, I guess there is no change from the actual portion served.

We asked for the menu, wanting to add another appetizer as the restaurant week menu limits to only one type. As we ordered a appetizer from the menu, the staff came up and mentioned that he have checked with the chef, and they are willing to swop it with the appetizer on the restaurant week's menu. This was a great initiative by the staffs and it had made our dining experience a happy one.

For the price paid, you'll get awesome food and awesome experience. Can't get any better than this.

Tania
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Food and Services"
Sunday 26/10/2014

This is restaurant I wont mind going back to. Services is excellent and Food is delectable and not to mention that the staffs are friendly!
2 thumbs up!

Phang Chee Ann
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Enjoyable and Scrumptious Dinner!"
Sunday 26/10/2014

The bread basket was mediocre. However the rest of the food were really good.

For appetizers, we had Breaded Saffron Risotto Ball stuffed with Taleggio Cheese and Green Peas on Beef Ragout. Very interesting dish and flavorful.

For mains, I had the Homemade Squid Ink Angel Hair Pasta with Lobster Meat and Basil Pesto and my partner had Cod Fish Cartoccio Style with Taggiasca Olives, White Clams and Broccoli in Spicy White Wine Sauce.

Although I liked mine, I preferred the cod fish main as it had more dimension with the various flavors from the different components of the ingredients. This main paired really well with the process we had.

For desert we had Vanilla Pannacotta with Chocolate Drops. Basic desert but really nice.

Service overall was good, the servers were attentive and the entire service in between courses were well paced.

Fay
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Wednesday 26/03/2014

Love the food. Will try the interesting Italian beer selection next time.

Donna Daritan
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Perfection"
Sunday 23/03/2014

Perfection!

N
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Extremely pleased!!"
Saturday 22/03/2014

This place certainly deserves it's 4.5 star rating! I enjoyed every dish from starter to dessert. I especially loved the chargrilled beef, which was perfectly tender and juicy! I will definitely be back to try out their other dishes!

Weihan
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Bravo"
Friday 21/03/2014

Restaurant week is an opportunity for diners to sample restaurants they might not have otherwise visited, and chefs to showcase their dishes to curious new customers. Oftentimes, unfortunately, corners are cut with quality, ingredients, and service.

This was not the case with Otto Locanda. Making amends for a mediocre bread basket, the octopus starter was delightfully tender and tasty. Of the mains, the fried seafood platter and 3-colour pappardelle were well excuted, but the beef sirloin with parmesan and rocket salad was the exceptional standout. The desert of panna cotta and berries coulis was wonderfully creamy and richly flavored by ambrosial vanilla. On top of the restaurant week selection, our party shared and sampled the Baked Layers of Eggplant Parmigiana and tiramisu. Both dishes left us craving for our own portion each.

Portion sizes at Otto Locada were generous, and the service team friendly and professional. Toward the end of the meal, chef Marco personally visited each table. When ours complimented him with light applause, he refused the individual commendation and immediately turned around to applaud his cooking team. “Bravo, Bravo” he told them; a humble and outstanding gesture that highlighted the evening.

Otto Locanda is at once classy yet casual, refined yet accessible. They have done more than enough to get us engaged in becoming new customers. Restaurant Week at it’s epicurean best. Bravo indeed.

Jia
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Friday 21/03/2014

Absolutely amazing Italian food - the bruschetta and lasagne was the best I'd ever tasted. Dessert was simple and good, vanilla ice cream (specked with vanilla bean!) doused with fragrant espresso. Value was very good, and the charming decor, and perfectly attentive staff made for an excellent dining experience.

SJ
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Amazing"
Friday 21/03/2014

Just simply amazing

johanna
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Friday 21/03/2014

Very classic, warm reception

Max
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Maybe expectation too high"
Friday 21/03/2014

We booked OTTO Locanda because of the almost uanimous praises by reviewers. (That was after we quickly dropped Brasserie les saveurs due to the almost uanimous negative reviews).

Food: the starter was fantastic. Unfortunately, all the main courses dissapoint: the pasta, the veal, and the cod. The dessert was average - ice cream with a shot of expresso. The kids don't take coffee, so they ate the ice cream plain.

The service was average. I had to repeat twice the main courses to the waiter. I had to ask twice for the coke ($6++). I had to ask two different staff for the bill.

Atmosphere: deco is cozy. I like the choice of music - my generation (the older one before lady Gaga was even born yet) but the restaurant got a bit noisy as the lunch crowd started to build up.

I visited 4 restauratnts during the restaurant week so far. This is the 'worst'. Not that it is no good, just not as good as the other 3 in my opinion (Salt, Gaia, and Burlamacco)

Will I recommend this restaurant? Yes

Will I come back (with or without the restaurant weeek)? Maybe

- etcwkh

etcwkh
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"excellent"
Friday 21/03/2014

everything perfect!

Fei
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Delicious Food - I might become a regular!"
Friday 21/03/2014

One of the better italian restaurants I have visited. Food portions were good and our table couldn't finish everything! The RW menu starter was a fulfilling antipasti and for the mains, I had the lasagna which was good but probably better to have for dinner. I should have gone for the cod which was refreshing and tasty, as complimented by others at my table. I thought the dessert was a good choice. Service was attentive and always asked how we felt about each serving if they saw that we did not finish! I am quite blown away by this experience because for 25++, you won't get such service and food very often if not for RW.
Thumbs up RW!

PW Tan
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Pretty awesome! But much better dinner than lunch"
Thursday 20/03/2014

Went for both lunch and dinner at OTTO Locanda this restaurant week. Overall verdict -- the mains at lunch were slightly disappointing but dinner was FANTASTIC and left us leaving super satisfied with what we got for our money's worth :)

LUNCH: Appetiser was a bruchetta topped with cheese which was really good except for the fact that one of my slices was slightly charred. I had the lasagne which was really good, but the veal cutlet that my companion got was slightly too salty for our liking and I felt the taste of the veal was overpowered by the bread crumbs/batter. Dessert was vanilla ice cream with espresso which ended the meal on a good note nonetheless! However overall, lunch was a little disappointing considering all the fantastic reviews I read online.

DINNER: WAS FANTASTIC. Loved the octopus we got for the appetiser, which was really soft and cooked wonderfully -- not too chewy, which I really liked. I had the steak which was absolutely wonderful (a little rare though I asked for medium but it was good nonetheless! Super soft and tasty). My companion got the seafood platter which was really delicious as well, especially the prawns which were really sweet and soft and had a great texture! The octopus and squid were also really soft yet not too chewy and I really liked the texture. The batter used was also not as overpowering/salty as the one used for the veal cutlet we got for lunch in my opinion, which was great because the taste of the seafood wasn't masked too much. The seafood tasted really fresh too! Dessert was vanilla panna cotta topped with berries which melted in my mouth - loved it! Ended the meal on a really great note, really satisfied with what we got and I think it was extremely worth every single cent we paid!

Service overall was great -- the chef came out to ask us personally how the food was (on both my visits), and the waiters and waitresses were also really friendly and warm, and made us feel very comfortable. The decor is also really laid back which I like. Definitely will go back for the dinner next time! :)

MC
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"The wait worth waiting for"
Thursday 20/03/2014

It certainly was a challenge trying to get seats at OTTO esp during RWS. We had the Veal Cutlet and Cod Fish for mains. Cod Fish was accompanied with spicy white wine sauce which was palatable to the taste buds. They were flexible to let us change our desserts as we are allergic to caffeine. We had the Crème Brule and Home made Crepes instead. The Brule was crisp on the top and silky in texture. Crepes with Nutella maybe heavy for some after the sumptuous meal. We also tried the much raved-about Roasted Octopus, which was unique. Service staffs were very attentive and Chef greeted every guest at their tables. Excellent experience and we will be back on Sat to end the RWS. Cheers!

snowbleu
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Lovely lunch at Otto Locando"
Thursday 20/03/2014

We had a lovely set lunch during restaurant week, and couldn't wait to review it. The starter of bruschetta with buratta and roasted tomatoes was absolutely delicious. The cheese was creamy and the tomatoes were sweet and juicy, full of intense flavour. For mains, our party ordered the codfish and the lasagne (veg and non-veg versions). All 3 dishes were very good. The cod was fresh, full of the flavour of the stock in which is was oven steamed in. The vegetarian lasagne deserves special mention as it was divine. Porcini mushroom with truffle oil. The portions were very generous, and we all left feeling thoroughly satisfied.
All in all a lovely lunch and we will definitely be going again.

Leanne Teo
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"OTTO Locanda"
Thursday 20/03/2014

The dinner we had during Restaurant Dining Week was awesome. The 3-course set menu was money's worth. The dinner set was selling at $68++ but we got ours for $35++ and the portion served was very generous (same as those that paid $68++). Unlike a few restaurants that we dine at during the past Restaurant Week, food portion served was compromised due to the price we paid. All 3 courses served at OTTO Locanda were fantastic, Complements to the Chef, who also took time to drop by every table to chat with diners. The service staff was very attentive and courteous. Kylee, the Restaurant Manager was always dropping by to check that diners are comfortable and our needs are attended to right away, she is really fabulous.
I remembered last year when we went for the lunch, she generously offered diners our choice of dessert from the main menu despite the set menu showed Tiramisu. That's what you called 'Great Service'. Keep it up OTTO Locanda, and we will always come back to you for Italian food. Cheers!

Doreen Lim
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"OTTO Locanda"
Thursday 20/03/2014

Food was good. Ordered extra items. Atmosphere was a bit loud with lunchers talking and laughing on top of their voice.

Food Lover
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Thursday 20/03/2014

Again tops as best restaurant week experience - food and service was excellent

Anonymous
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Thursday 20/03/2014

Again tops as best restaurant week experience - food and service was excellent

Anonymous
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Warm atmosphere with great service attitude"
Wednesday 19/03/2014

The quality of the food is great! The service crew wanted to in all ways make the customer comfortable. I like the presentation of the food. We ordered 2 different sets and noting our intention to share, the service crew had the food placed in the middle of our table and 2 sets of cutlery for us to share from. I thought it was very thoughtful of them. Ambience was nice and cozy.

Edeline Tan
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"They didn't disappoint me"
Wednesday 19/03/2014

As always, the food was fantastic and the service was excellent

Rosa
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"The restaurant to beat"
Wednesday 19/03/2014

Otto Locanda is the restaurant to beat during Restaurant Week. Unlike some others who make their customers feel like you are having a "courtesy meal" (cough cough, Brasserie Les Saveurs), it presents stunning courses throughout and makes you feel like you were really wise to have chosen to dine there.

Portions were not downsized just because it's Restaurant Week. The cod is sublime and so is the veal. The lasagna could do with more time in the oven but when the waiter heard my feedback, he immediately told the chef who came out personally to offer wine/more desserts to make up. There was no need to since the affagato with its fragrant vanilla ice cream and smooth expresso was more than enough to end the meal on a happy note.

Probably because the meals are at more pocket friendly prices, a number of restaurants featured in Restaurant Week seem to present 50% skill/effort. But not Otto Locanda. This is the restaurant to watch and for others to emulate.

EL
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"must go! fantastic food and service makes it a wonderful experience"
Wednesday 19/03/2014

The minute I sat down, the attentive wait staff asked if I need drinks while waiting for my dining partner to arrive.
The food was served pretty quickly as well, although I feel that the waiting time between antipasto and main course was a tad too long.
The antipasto was polipo arrostito which became the best octopus I've ever tasted. For main course we had fritto misto and tagliata di manzo. The tagliata beef(medium) was really delicious an went very well with the cheese. As for the fritto misto, it was rather oily and we feel that you'll start to feel sick if you finish them by yourself as everything was deep fried. However the prawns were really scrumptious and deserves a mention.

Would definitely go again!

Estee
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Nice food and service "
Tuesday 18/03/2014

The food is yummy and the service is very good.

Lilian
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Best service and super friendly staff restaurant"
Tuesday 18/03/2014

It was my first time trying otto locanda. Heard the name many times. Went there with my sisters and my 5 years old niece. The staff was really friendly in assisting us and answering our questions about the food. Food was fantastic. During the meal and at the end, the chef came to our table and asked if we like the food.. Would defintely coming back and highly recommended for people bringing children or rushing hour for lunch or even romantic dinner

IP
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Food to lift your spirits!"
Tuesday 18/03/2014

Visited OTTO Locando for lunch with my sister as part of the Restaurant week. The starter was bruschetta with burrata (can't recommend it enough!); for mains we selected the cod (again..spot on!) and by dessert we were so stuffed that we barely finished. The dessert was scoop of vanilla ice cream with espresso shot so no surprises there. The staff was very very nice (esp as I had to wait for my sis for almost 25 mins). They never once bothered me about needing to place the order now or anything - sp mention of the hostess who is very sweet and welcoming. Overall rating - excellent with easy access via MRT.

SA
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Restaurant Week lunch"
Tuesday 18/03/2014

We had a fantastic lunch at Otto Locanda. Even though we went on the Restaurant Week deal (S$25 per menu), the menu wasn't watered down at all! The starter was very generous and the bread was done to perfection. We had both mains - veal and cod. Both were excellent for a lunch menu. The portion was very reasonable too. By the time we got to the dessert, we all were pretty filled up! But the third course didn't disappoint either. The service couldn't be better. We got there early as a family of four. Executive Chef Marco visited us and chatted with us. Otto's Service Manager was extremely courteous and informative. Alternative choices for our children were offered and delivered! Chef also provided a special (nicely cooked octopus) that simply went beyond expectation. Quite honestly, I will be very happy to pay the full price for the lunch (whatever it might be, $40??). As a special deal under the Restaurant Week promotion, it simply was one of the best (quality and value) lunches I've had in Singapore (dinned in most Tier 1 fine dining French/Italian outlets) and Sydney (lived there in 2013 eating all over the place!). Keep it up, Otto. You are great. I haven't tried Otto Ristorante yet but this lunch in the more causal Locanda certainly gives me much incentive and confidence to try the more substantial neighbour on Maxwell Road.

Henry Yeung
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Strongly recommended"
Tuesday 18/03/2014

The cod fish i had was very delicious. the flavours were well-balanced in the broth. the dessert was also refreshing. the service staff were also very attentive to our needs. I strongly recommend this place!

Eunice
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Tuesday 18/03/2014

Excellent lunch - well executed by Chef Marco and his team. Really enjoyed the combination of the Cod and clams steamed in a bag. The quality of the cheese used int he starter was great and the dessert - a great compliment to the meal. Value for money. The service provided by Kyle was superb as usual - attentive and friendly.

Mikko
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Attentive service & good food"
Tuesday 18/03/2014

We had such a nice lunch and the service was outstanding. Food was lovely although I should have chosen a lighter main as the lasagne was too rich for me. Thanks you Otto Locanda for a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Jo
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Great as before"
Sunday 16/03/2014

Having had a most awesome dinner here the last Restaurant Week, we brought the kids a couple of months ago and had yet another wonderful meal. So this Restaurant Week, I told my sisters they really had to come here with me, and they did. Once again, the service was friendly, accommodating & attentive enough and the menu allowed us to try their regular dishes at a discounted price. While there was only a single choice of starter - a very promising octopus with bean puree that was attractively plated, delicately flavoured yet tasty and roasted just right - there were 3 choices of mains, which we shared. The first main was a 3 colour pappardelle with roasted veg & shaved scamorza. Although the pasta was a tad over-cooked, the dish was so umami-licious thanks to the cheese that the meat lover among us said she was willing to turn vegetarian for it. However, she took back her word when we had the second main of sliced beef sirloin with rocket salad & parmesan. This was perfectly grilled to medium doneness & was very flavourful. Our last main of deep fried seafood featured fresh calamari, octopus & tiger prawns that were firm to the bite yet tender and came with a not too heavy tartar sauce that was just tangy enough. The bottle of Sangiovese we had was food-friendly & went well with what we had. We especially liked that our server did not automatically recommend the most expensive wine they had. For dessert, we managed to try 2 others - an interesting version of tiramisu with chocolate sauce & a not too sweet crème brulee - on top of the one on the menu, which was a light, creamy vanilla pannacotta with berries coulis. These were all very well executed and worth the extra calories! I highly recommend this place where the restaurant manager & even the chef make it a point to go round the tables to check that everything is alright. Access to the place is also very convenient - train station right next to it and ample parking available behind the building. Go through the front doors and you will find yourself in a warm, inviting atmosphere with really scrumptious food.

Cheryl Chan
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"Nice ambience"
Sunday 16/03/2014

Service was very prompt; staff was very attentive to our needs, friendly as well. Nice ambience of restaurant for a candle-lit dinner. Food was just average.. wasn't the usual Italian food for restaurant week. What was commendable was the freshness of the seafood and the panna cotta. Coffee was very reasonably priced.

Lisa
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
""
Sunday 16/03/2014

The starter Grilled Octopus is fantastic! The octopus is cooked at the right degree and is very chewy. The fried prawns, calamari and octopus was served lukewarm but the taste would be better if it is served warmer. The pappardelle is tasty but the accompany ingredient is root vegetable which is quite bland. We asked for a change of dessert as pannacotta does not appeal to us. We had nutella crepe and tiramisu. The crepe is recommend while the tiramisu is too creamy.

Jerlin Tan
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
"A nice quiet dinner location"
Sunday 16/03/2014

The starter, grilled octopus was a delight, juicy and chewy to the right degree. It was unfortunate that the mains left my parter and I wanting. The beef slices were overly chewy although marinated wonderfully and the fried prawns, calamari and octopus was a plain affair. Dessert was superb though, strong authentic vanilla used was a real treat on the tongue. Service was excellent, although in busier moments, I had to wave for sometime for the waiter to notice me.

Joel
Recommended!
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 13/10/2013

Terrific dinner experience at OTTO Locanda. Food was splendid and the grilled octopus was a revelation! Had lobster and sirloin for the mains and those did not disappoint. Tiramisu was yummy too and was one of the best renditions I've had. Service was courteous and welcoming. Very pleasant overall! Would recommend to friends!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 13/10/2013

Great Food

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 13/10/2013

First time to the restaurant and is impressed. Each dish is satisfying! Both of us had a full stomach when we left. Definitely worth returning. The staff are attentive and warm, make us feel important :)

Sherlyn Gee
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 13/10/2013

The menu was terrific and serving was generous.. Many choices for the main course. I especially like the starter grilled octopus tentacles which was a huge piece. Grilled to perfection, outside abit burnt yet inside was fresh and chewy. For mains, my wife had the beef sirloin and the serving was generous with 3 pieces of sirloin and very tasty. For myself I had the Boston lobster which I had check the orginal price was serving at $35. It was definitely worth the money and I would recommend diners to dine at this place!

Melvin Tan
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 13/10/2013

Situated next to Tanjong Pagar MRT, Otto Locanda provides very high quality Italian food in a very nice environment.

We ate the Polipo Arrostito as an appetizer, a large tentacle of a roasted octopus which was done to perfection. For mains, we ate the grilled lobster, which firm and succulent. The angel hair pasta was also very good.

The service staff was very prompt, friendly and responsive, adding to the overall attraction of the restaurant. The restaurant manager also inredibly friendly and went around to each table to introduce the dishes and obtain feedback on the food.

Overall, an excellent Italian restaurant that serves very high quality food at a reasonable price point with excellent service.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 13/10/2013

Food is great! Service is ok.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 12/10/2013

Dinner here during restaurant week is definitely awesome value and a great experience. Once you step in, it feels like home, warm and inviting and the service is friendly and timely. And it wasn't just the waiter. It seemed like everyone came by to say hello and ask if we were ok at some point throughout the evening, including chef Marco. You feel welcome, like family and we are definitely bringing our family next time we come. There was a family with young children at the next table and they looked so relaxed and comfortable that you know this is a great place for anyone. The grilled octopus in pea puree was a great starter, tender without being chewy, fresh and zingy with the tomatoes. For mains, we had the Boston lobster and the sirloin. The lobster had a wonderful smoky flavour (though challenging to eat with cutlery but we just got in there with our hands since the waiter gave us a cracker) and the sirloin was beautifully done - we had it medium. Nice and tender and really flavourful. We had some great wines too - a Pinot Grigio (always a great drink with seafood) and a Negroamaro (full bodied red) - both highly recommended. Desert was tiramisu which is a good solid Italian favourite to round off the meal and we liked that it wasn't too sweet. This was a really wonderful dining experience (especially during restaurant week for the unbeatable value) and we would recommend it to everyone. But we are not going to wait till the next rw :)

Cheryl Chan
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 12/10/2013

Having dined at the original OTTO Ristorante before, I was pretty confident that its sibling restaurant OTTO Locanda would probably not disappoint. Fact is, the meal I had at OTTO Locanda far exceeded my expectations! The decor and atmosphere is warm and inviting, the service is friendly and prompt. After looking at the Restaurant Week menu, we decided we were hungry enough to add another appetiser so we asked for the ala-carte menu, the waiter seemed surprised and must have assumed we were not happy with what was on the RW menu so he rushed to assure us that the RW menu was actually made up of the best from their ala-carte selections. This turned out to be the absolute truth when we saw the ala-carte menu, the priciest items from each course was already in our RW menu, which really speaks volumes about OTTO Locanda's generous attitude and smart marketing towards its RW customers. A lot of short-sighted restaurants would not have found it worth their while to give out their 'best' during RW with those reduced prices, but these are also the same restaurants who would not earn a repeat visit from their customers. So kudos to OTTO Locanda for that!

The grilled octopus appetiser was tender and not excessively chewy (which is just the way I like it) and went perfectly with the capers and cherry tomatoes. The extra Calamari appetiser we ordered was also lovely in its crispness. The beef tenderloin and king prawn aglio olio mains we had were really good. And lastly, the tiramisu dessert was also quite impressive because I really liked that it didn't have the typical look of a tiramisu. This one was cake in the center of a ramekin covered completely with the mousse-creme so that it came to me looking like a pudding instead, and every spoonful was so delicious, I all but licked it clean.

The only reason I didn't give their cuisine and service 10 out of 10 was because the bread basket they served was cold and stale. But that was easily forgotten once the actual meal began so all in all, I'll definitely return for a repeat of this wonderful dinner experience outside of the Restaurant Week promotion.

Amanda Tay
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 12/10/2013

Excellent food, and extreme value for money. Encompassing the spirit of restaurant week.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 12/10/2013

really nice little bisto, and the food is even better than some of the "star" restuarants participated in the restuarant week. beef is very tender, and the lobster is also great. will definitely go back after the restaurant week.

Yan Huang
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 11/10/2013

visited for restaurant week and expected condensed version of the dishes, but instead of getting a shadow of a taste and half sizes, we got hit with the full portion and taste of the dish.

the grilled octopus with pea puree was has a perfectly balanced smokey taste with a dash of olive oil. the texture of the puree provided a great base for the sweet & tangy tomatoes and salty capers on the side.

The main dish of angel hair pasta with king prawn and crispy zucchini was good, though not as impressive as the entree. I was expecting the zucchini to play a supporting role, but it was very much the key player of the dish, even more so than the king prawns, so order if you like zucchini, otherwise its not loss if you gave the dish a miss.

dessert was tiramisu. while i do love me a good tiramisu, I found the cream too thick for my liking and too little biscuits to give the dish proper substance. the taste was good though, not too sweet.

all in all, i'd recommend the restaurant, service is good, decor is very tasteful.

Celest Lin
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 11/10/2013

Food was divineee! Service was impeccable. It was worth braving the rain to get there. ;)

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 11/10/2013

Best Restaurant Week meal I had! Best service too! Definitely will be back for the grilled octopus, the burrata bruschetta, the cod, the prawn pasta and pork collar.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 10/10/2013

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 10/10/2013

Dining week dinner at $35++ per person.

OL has done it agn. Food and service were top notch and we were completely satisfied with our second visit. Great italian cooking using freshest ingredients and offered generous portion for restaurant wk. The grilled octopus (starter) and Boston lobster (main) were fresh and retained a slight grilled-smoky fragrance. Very yummy. Other mains - beef steak, angel hair in tiger prawn sauce- were polished off our plates with equal satisfaction. The tiramisu dessert received good to vg reviews among the six of us. Personally, I would like more mascarpone and and a hint of rum in it:).

Though not part of the set meal, coffee lovers will like their strong Italian brew. My friend felt the tea was standard fare. We also appreciate their friendly wine policy, whereby no corkage is charged for our own bottle of wine as long as we also order one of theirs.

To top it off, chef Marco and his team were constantly present to ensure diners were well looked after. They were even at the door when we were leaving. With the same quality and attention, i definitely recommend to try their $32 3-course set lunch. Hey,, we will certainly visit again!. Thank you all!

Molly Goo
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 10/10/2013

We had a really good time at OTTO. Everything was near and close to perfection! The set lunch was value for money during the restaurant week. The chef certainly did not skimp on the quality and quantity. We had the restaurant manager and chef coming out to ask if everything was ok during the meal. Certainly this restaurant is getting a vote from me again for the next restaurant week!

Wendy Ng
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 10/10/2013

The grilled octopus appetizer was to die for! I still can't stop raving about it! For mains I had the Boston lobster while my wife had the sirlion steak, which were both awesome. Dessert was tiramisu, which was ok. The entire meal was perfect and the service was excellent, keeping in mind this was only for $35! The appetizer alone could have cost $25-30 and the lobster $70-90 but yet we got it at a steal, as if we were paying full prices. And I am saying this on the back of a terrible, disappointing Restaurant Week meal at Bistro Du Vin on 9 Oct. Thumbs up to Otto Locanda!!

Samuel Lee
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 10/10/2013

Excellent service, well orchestrated. Clresy they restaurant has invested in how to serve their customers, giving an excellent overall experience while being subtle. Thank you for this out of the norm experience. I'll definitely be back.

We also had 2 guests who were unable to make it at the last minute. I felt terrible because I know how busy the restaurant gets, however, our server did not make me feel responsible and arranged our table accordingly. In another restaurant I probably would have been scolded or asked to pay for the two not joining. Thank you Otto Locanda.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Wednesday 09/10/2013

The food and service at OTTO Locanda was excellent. This was my first time trying a different kind of Italian cooking. The serving for the antipasti was generous and good. For mains we chose the cod fish and and pork neck and they were really really good. Kudos to the chef.

Service, wow! their service was fantastic. The waiter serving us was very pleasant, attentive and very helpful. Most of all the restaurant Manager, Ms Kylee, she was so attentive and friendly, each time after clearing our plates she would asked whether the food was ok, and a wonderful gesture that needed to be mentioned ... The dessert for the set menu was pannacotta, but she was so generous to offer us a selection from the the ala carte menu. That was a great surprise! Both my husband and I truly had a wonderful lunch yesterday and at a discounted price. We will definitely go back there when we feel like having Italian food. This restaurant should be upgraded from ***

Doreen Quek
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Wednesday 09/10/2013

Beautiful Italian restaurant at a very convenient location (1 min walk from tanjong pagar mrt). My husband and i gave 2 thumbs up for the sincerity and friendliness of the staff especially the manager Kylee who was really nice to help me to change some dishes due to medical issues. The food was of great quality and quantity. I have recommended to my friends and will be back again. Thank you restaurant week for introducing such an excellent restaurant to us.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Wednesday 09/10/2013

Had a great time at Otto, nice food as well..

roberto felix limbaga
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 08/10/2013

The main courses were delectable and cooked to perfection. The highlight of the meal was the cod fish and the panacota dessert. Will recommend.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 08/10/2013

The flavors were fantastic !! We started with grilled octopus and we were pleasantly surprised that we were served a whole tentacle ! I don't usually eat octopus but I gobbled that down like it was my most favorite dish in the world. The octopus was succulent and juicy and tasted nothing like an octopus. The grilled Boston lobster was also amazing! Wish it had more meat though. We were however, a little disappointed when the angel hair pasta with tiger prawns came cus we were expecting whole tiger prawns. But the zucchini chips add an interesting texture to the pasta. Desserts - tiramisu - we loved it. We were really delighted that the courses (especially the dessert), came in more-than-bite-size portions. Thank you for the wonderful experience !

Wanxin Chen
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 08/10/2013

Whole courses was good especially the main course. I was having a cod fish and it was fantastic.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 08/10/2013

Had a lovely dinner at OTTO Locanda last night during the Restuarant Week. The service crew were attentive even as it was getting crowded. We had Roasted Octopus, Grilled Boston Lobster, Grilled Sliced Beef Sirloin and Tiramisu. All the dishes were good. The beef sirloin was the highlight as it was delicious and tender. For those who are planning on eating the Lobster, it can be a challenge to eat it (you will get what i mean when you ordered that ;p ). It is a lovely dish nevertheless. It is a nice and romantic place to dine.

Trina Liu
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 08/10/2013

Prompt service, good ambience, fabulous appetiser.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 08/10/2013

Prompt service, good ambience, fabulous appetiser.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Wednesday 03/07/2013

Enjoyed as always an excellent dinner prepared by Chef Marco and the attentive service of the staff. Looking forward to our next dinner there.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 13/06/2013

We were very satisfied!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 07/04/2013

http://thechosenglutton.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/otto-locanda/

Otto Locanda is this, fanciful and posh Italian Restaurant at Maxwell Chambers (right outside of the Tanjong Pagar MRT Exit, that I had walked past years ago, thinking to myself, when will I ever come to dine at this restaurant. Because it looks so good on the outside, and on the inside as well, upon further peeping. Years later, I finally got the chance to patronize the establishment (during Restaurant Week March 2013), what with it located just diagonally opposite my workplace.

As aforementioned, the interior was sleek, cozy and welcoming. I just love the contrasting color theme of the restaurant. We were warmly greeted by the hostess and brought to our table of eight. The bread basket was one of the better ones. I’m pretty particular when it comes to bread baskets. Being warm is the first step. Then, the bread has to be relatively soft with a different textured and slightly crispier crust. I thought Otto Locanda did it pretty good.

Before I go into the courses proper, I must commend that the management is very flexible. As I had friends of mine who couldn’t take cheese, they were actually open to switching it up (the dessert) for that two friends of mine when I wrote in. They did a great job coordinating with the Chef and my friends in person whilst we were there. I am glad they were being taken care of.

Antipasti (Sliced Chilled Roast Grain Fed Strip Loin with Tuna Sauce) :: Appetizers, have always been a ‘small portion’ in my perception. More so for one, this is a Restaurant Week Menu – many restaurants would be cutting back on parts of it to save cost. I was impressed with the gigantic portion the restaurant offered. All my dining companions were, too. Save for the slightly exotic combination of tuna sauce with the strip loin, I thought the dish was refreshing. Every part of it had their flavors spot on.

Main Course (Trio Pasta) :: Though it might seem like a degustation menu, it can actually be quite filling if you finish everything. Well, there’s the carbohydrates there. I admire the beauty of the presentation. Ravioli stuffed with Buffalo Ricotta Cheese, Beef Lasagna, and Squid Ink Spaghetti Chitarra Pasta with Crab Meat are the three musketeers in this course. Again, I think it was cooked to perfection. And just the right amount – not getting too cloying.

Main Course (Pan-Roasted Sea Bass) :: Fish wasn’t a problem, it was soft and smooth. I, for one though, am not a fan of the Amalfi Coast Style Sauce. Somehow, it tasted too Chinese and tomato-based for me. Pity though, because I am a huge fan of fishes.

Main Course (Roasted Baby Chicken) :: Of the three main courses, this rank in the middle for me. As the name suggests, pepper caponata, the dish is skewed toward the spicy side. It’s definitely tolerable, but this serves as a heads up for non-spicy takers. The baby chicken wasn’t the most tender, softest or most fragrant, but it’s passable.

Dessert (Tiramisu) :: Hell, this photo doesn’t do justification to the size of the dessert. Like its counterpart, the antipasti, our jaws dropped when it was brought onto the table. It was such a huge piece of tiramisu that our stomachs were starting to call for help. Even the usual ‘there is always space for dessert’ couldn’t hang in there for long. Okay, don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. Only because the Tiramisu is good. I thought it differs a little from the usual – Otto Locanda’s version was milder, I thought. But with every bite of it, you can still distinctly taste its cocoa, mascarpone cheese, and coffee. Bravo.

Dessert (Profiteroles) :: Now this is the switched up dessert I was talking about. I say, my friend got a steal for herself. The profiteroles, soaked in chocolate, matched with the chilled cream within, was indulgent even though I only had a pop of it. Oh yes, strawberries accompanied as co-star.

Overall, I’m definitely impressed with the service. Food-wise, some hits, some misses, although most were the former. We were there for Restaurant Week, Lunch. So it was only $25++. For that, it’s value for money, hands down. I would certainly love to try its ala-carte menu some other time.

Edsmond Cheong
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 26/03/2013

I must say Otto Locanda served up the best dinner I had among my three dinners during Restaurant Week. The Maitre d' was friendly and even provided a sample of their new coffee after our meal! The Trio Pasta I had was authentically Italian. We will definitely return to Otto Locanda for many more meals to come!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Monday 25/03/2013

The food was Great and we totally enjoyed the evening!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Monday 25/03/2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my experience here! Came here for the restaurant week and for the price, I had roasted octopus, grilled lobster and meringue cake. Food was yummy, service was personal with the chef walking around to ensure patrons were happy, atmosphere was cheerful (great for friends gathering, will highly recommend!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Monday 25/03/2013

my second RW and this time i was very surprised about OTTO Locando!very good food,well presented and huge portion..my favourite was the starter,never tried an octopus cooked that way.the staff were attentive and warm.at the end they even offer to us a taste of their new caffe cream,delicious!very good experience

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Monday 25/03/2013

This Restaurant deserve a very nice review...we went there with some friend, and we were welcomed with a very great and friendly staff. The food excellent with a great Mediterranean twist, the Chef also come to our table to see if everything was fine and if we enjoy of the total meal. The last touch was when he cheers with us explaining how Lemoncello is made and how long is the process.
Overall the experience FANTASTIC! Well done!!!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Monday 25/03/2013

It was a very cozy bistro with excellent service!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Monday 25/03/2013

Tried a few restaurants during restaurant week and overall, Otto Locanda provided the best experience in terms of both food and service quality. Staff were friendly, flexible, prompt and were able to make good recommendations and advice on the food.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 24/03/2013

slices of beef on rockets was tasty but we find that the portion may be too huge for an appetizer. Main were trio pasta and pan roasted sea bass. They were tasty but not memorable. The best I would say was tiramisu, it was in generous portion. The cream was fluffy and light and with the rest of perfect combination. We surprise ourself by finished it clean. It was one of the best tiramisu we have tasted.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 24/03/2013

Occasion: 2013 Restaurant wk dinner, party of 6.

Ambience: beautiful and elegantly cozy. We were informed that this outlet allows casual dressing including bermudas which may appeal to some. Yet i feel the decor is way better than many good restaurants even though I feel lighting can be a little less dim at night . It was great that there isnt a 2-seating policy and the restaurant was full even when we were leaving after 10pm. My husband and I normally avoid patronizing restaurants that have 2 seatings and hope OL keeps it this way even during future dining weeks.

Food: definitely deserves two thumbs up! The 3 course dinner consisted of a grilled octopus starter, main and dessert. As octopus starter is not a common item in a menu in Singapore, I had some reservation initially but it turned out to be the star dish of my dinner. It is lightly salted, very flavorful and beautifully grilled to exude a smokey sweetness. I will definitely recommend it if it is in the ala carte menu. The restaurant readily provided my two friends with mozzarella cheese salad when they opted out of the octopus. And the mozzarella portion was so generous it shows they are not cutting corners for restaurant week prices. We had among us us grilled sirloin, baked lobster and squid ink pasta with crab meat as our mains. Every dish receives good reviews at our table! The cold meringue cake dessert was not too flavorful in my opinion, although a girlfriend polished up everything while the five of us had half left on our plates. It was good that it isn't very sweet although I had preferred a more flavorful dessert.

Service: it was apparent that OL makes special effort in their dining week debut and I applaud the sincere effort, smiles and promptness in their service. Chef Marco was seen milling around tables and greeting guests to ensure everyone is well taken care of.

It is definitely the best of my three dining experiences during this dining week. I like to compliment OL for their great food n service, and hope it can be maintained. We will definitely recommend OL and return for the regular set meals ($32 3-course lunch/ $48 dinner) or other items. It will be tough not to order the grilled octopus again.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 24/03/2013

Not worth returning. Thought that OTTO standard should not be far off from OTTO further down.
Chilled beef was overpowered by the creamy tuna mayonnaise.
Bread serve was cold
My main was average
Dessert was so so

Erica sim
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Sunday 24/03/2013

I am impressed with what they have done to the restaurant - good ambience. The food was delicious and the portion generous. I love the grilled octopus which I have not tasted. However, I regretted choosing the lobster as the main. It was difficult to eat in such a nice restaurant and I found it a tad too salty. I tried the beef and it was very good. The meringue dessert was new to my tastebuds and very authentic.Would likely return for a meal soon.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 23/03/2013

Casual joint but excellent food and prices are very reasonable for the quality. Portions are big compared to OTTO restaurant.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 23/03/2013

We enjoyed the dinner very much and intend to return with friends.

All the portions - the appetizer, mains and desserts were very generous. In fact I have eaten at so many restaurants in the past years during restaurant week and had never had a restaurant that had been so generous in their servings.

The food was good, tasty and unique. The very huge-sliced octopus appetizer was done beautifully, not chewy and topped with crispy zucchini was fantastic. My husband's beef was not the usual 3 small slices on a large plate. They were so large that they filled the whole plate, with a sauce that was tasty and pleasant. My combination platter of Ravioli, Lasagne and squid ink Spaggetti was commendable, especially the ravioli. The tasting portion convinced me that we should come back for the full plate. I galnced at another table and saw that their lobster for main couses was also very generous. The meringue dessert was almost as large as a tennis ball, and somewhat too frozen. It sits on chocolate sauce topped with a slice of chocolate biscuit. Because it was frozen hard, it was difficult to cut and attempts to do her had the chocolate sauce flying all over - the table, my husband's white shirt.

The dinner also included coffee or tea and all this for no surcharge, unlike all the other Italian restaurants. Another restaurant where I went for lunch charges for coffee and tea. I have since stopped booking restaurants who levy a surcharge because this is Restaurant Week and to pay $15 and $20 per person for what they claim to be providing top grade ingredients is questionable. Otto Lacanda has proven that you do not need to levy a surcharge for quality fare.

Service - top marks. wait staff were attentive, always on hand, obliging and service immediate. Wen I asked to change my table to another one, the wait staff went to check and came back immediately, saying it could be done, no problem. The chef also took the trouble to go to every table to ask if all was well. To top off our already lovely evening, the captain came and introduced us to caffee crema, two heavenly cups of coffee with cream, on the house. What more can I say about our experience at Otto Locanda?

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 23/03/2013

Food was delicious. All 4 choices of mains were excellent! The lobster was particularly yummy.
A great find!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Saturday 23/03/2013

I was at OTTO Locanda with 2 colleagues for lunch. The service was good and the atmosphere was convivial. Food wise, there were some hits and misses. Our starters of beef striploin slices were a tad confused with a dressing of what tasted like tuna purée. For the main course, two of us had the pasta trio, which was tasty and flavorful (I particularly enjoyed the lasagna). However, my other colleague's pennete with burrata in tomato sauce was a bit too tangy for her liking. In the end it was the dessert that really lifted our meal - our tiramisus were moist, fluffy and generous in portion, thus ensuring we ended off our lunch on a good note.

Albert Loo
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

Lunch here was the highlight of our Restaurant Week!

Service was excellent. Staff were professional & warm. They (& the chef)were observant and adjusted things to suit us. They took note of the diet restrictions, even though we were there for Restaurant Week. Chef even made the effort to say Hello to each table.

Food was great. We started with an Appetiser of Shaved Beef on a bed of Rocket. There were 4 options for the mains and Tiramisu for dessert was a full size. Coffee was complimentary.

It is places like this that makes Restaurant Week a really special event. Good Food & good service at a special price!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

The best italian restaurant we have been to for this season's Restaurant Week. The menu was very good especially the gnocchi which was soft and full of taste of cheese. My friend doesnt eat cheese and so was presented with a special dish of parpadelle with mushroom and Italian sauages. It was awesome as the flavours were spicy and flavourful
Their desserts were to die for - we ordered extra lava cake on top of the usual serving of tirimisu.
Staff were attentive and the chef was so kind to check on us to make sure everything is well and spent some time explaining to us about the process of his home made gnocchi which we are full of praise.
Wonderful place. We love it.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

The octopus entree was very tender and a nice surprise. Boston lobsters was an option for mains which was very generous. The staff were very polite and chef came around twice to speak to us. We stayed till quite late (11pm) but were not chased by the manager to leave. Overall very enjoyable experience. Thank you.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

the lobster was sweet, juicy and grilled to perfection! i'm amazed by the appetizer as well, it converted me to a octopus loving foodie :) great meringe cake dessert that is not too sweet, and a wonderful end to the perfect meal.

Crystal Koh
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

My friend and I were impressed by the food selection, service, and of course, the nice ambience. The food portions were of good size and the one that really stood out for us was the trio pasta - the squid ink was excellent (one of the best ones that I've taken so far). Well done! I am looking forward to the next....

Florence Tan
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

Service staff was attentive, friendly and warm. The chef even made rounds to greet every diner at their table. Food portion were big so that's commendable given that this is a Restaurant Week promotion event. Starters of beef with rocket salad on tuna dressing was not bad but in my view the tuna dressing is a bit overpowering so perhaps a simple dressing of EVOO with sea salt may suffice. The Trip Pasta was good, both the lagsana and squid ink/crab linguine was outstanding. Tiramisu was ok, although a little on the soggy side. Overall food quality was not bad although not that memorable.

A Soh
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

Overall food was not bad.'Like the ambience.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

My companions and I enjoyed our lunch immensely. The strip loin was tender and cooked just right although it appeared the Chef was a tad heavy handed with the sauce. If anything the trio pasta really blew us away. I loved the lasagne while my friend dished up every bit of the squud ink pasta. Our other friend who ordered the penne was left wishing she followed our lead. The generous serving of tiramisu could have been better presented but there was no doubt the sweet treat was a splendid end to our meal!

Ruyi Ang
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Friday 22/03/2013

Good food, good service in a nice place at a very conveinient location. What more can you ask for? (:

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 21/03/2013

The octopus starter was very well roasted and flavourful (even my husband who wouldn't normally eat slimy stuff finished it!). The lasagna was heavenly, the lobster was delicious. One of the best Restaurant Week menus ever.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 21/03/2013

Everything was excellent, especially the portion sizes, which can be a little light on during Restaurant Week! Very enjoyable :-D

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 21/03/2013

Booked a table for 4 with my girls for Restaurant Week. We arrived and while waiting for our last friend to reach the restaurant, the Chef noticed our waiting table and sent over some battered cheese to nibble on. We were pleasantly surprised by the attention of the Chef, Kylee, and the servers. This continued on for the entire duration of our meal and the food was impeccable. We tried all 4 main course choices as there were four of us. Loved the Trio Pasta, the Squid Ink Aglio Olio, the Beef Sirloin, the Lobster wowed us! Kylee, the manager, made our experience there so memorable. Two of us in the group didn't eat octopus so we were offered two other starter alternatives (eggplant lasagna & tomato caprese salad) which were extremely yummy. A friend couldn't decide between the white or the prosecco and she was offered a sample of both to decide. Kudos to the top-notch service! My friends and I are all really impressed and we will be raving about our dinner at OTTO Locanda for years to come!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Thursday 21/03/2013

We are showed to a table by the side with a view of the bar counter. Some fluffy bread to start with after our orders are taken. Very soft bread. Start with Roasted Octopus with Potatoes and Leeks Puree and Crispy Zucchini, served with a dash of freshly grounded black pepper. The tentacle is very long that my partner remarks where can find such a big octopus in Singapore. The zucchini is very thin and crispy, way better than potato chips and healthier. The purée is very soft and delicious.Having Trio Pasta: Ravioli Stuffed with Buffalo Ricotta Cheese, Traditional Beef Lasagna, Home Squid Ink Spaghetti Chitarra Pasta with Crab Meat in Mediterranean Style as my main. The squid ink spaghetti is very thin, almost like angel hair and full of crab meat, which I like the best out of the 3 pasta dishes. Never had so such soft and smooth to the mouth lasagna. The ravioli does not stick together, maybe the skin too soft. Sliced Beef Sirloin Grilled with Wild Rocket Salad, Melted Fontina Cheese and Artichoke Sauce for my partner. At first plan to order well done as we have an experience of the meat turns too raw inside during last year restaurant week in another place, but advised otherwise. End up with middle well. Turns out to be a bad choice as the meat is rather tough to be savour. The table behind orders Grilled Lobster with Fresh Marinated Vegetables with Citrus Salad which looks rather big amount. Half wishing we have ordered that earlier.Meringue cake Meringata for dessert - A slice of meringue cake served with chocolate sauce. Very interesting dessert. At first look, it looks like a scoop of ice-cream on chocolate sauce. But not. Tastes like frozen whipped cream which melts in your mouth. Overall servings are rather big. Impressed by the service, ambience and food with its reasonable price. The chef even comes out to check with us about the food. For a while thought it could because I have told the staff about the tough beef. P.S. remember to visit the washroom while dining there. Got L’occitane handwash for you to wash your hands with. So nice.

Doreen Tan
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Wednesday 20/03/2013

Great service and food!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Wednesday 20/03/2013

The menu offered was innovative. I never have thought certain food items can be cooked and presented this way. Service was great and they were very helpful in providing greater detail as to what each dish comprises of. The place was a tad noisy, probably it was because of Restaurant Week which could have generated more crowd. But that aside, all was good with OTTO Locanda!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Wednesday 20/03/2013

Great food & great service at a great price! One of my friends doesn't take beef(the appetizer was strip loin) & OTTO packed it for us. Chef even dropped by to offer us some wine as another friend found the Trio Pasta squid pasta slightly fishy. Totally impressed with the attention! Thumbs up OTTO Locando!!!

Stephanie Ng
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 19/03/2013

The food presentation is really pretty but unfortunately they look better than they taste!
My beef tenderloin was overcooked though I specified it to be medium rare! My friend's lobster dish was either overcooked or not fresh as she had quite a fight trying to get the meat out!
We understood from other restaurants who presented their " grand tour of taste" where they showcased one signature dish of either starter/mains/dessert but it wasnt featured at this restaurant which make us wonder why?

We feel bad to send back the dishes since it is at Restaurant week prices at $35 and we are also aware that some restaurants are not as well establish and taking the opportunity to do some marketing. On this note, we are a little disappointed with this choice.
The atmosphere is of a cozy and casual trattoria and service is prompt but not warm.

Overall it is an alright experience.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 19/03/2013

Food portions are big. Love the Tiramisu! Service is prompt n staff are friendly! Well done!

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 19/03/2013

food -- huge portion =)

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 19/03/2013

I felt the appetizer was really unique and the squid was cooked really well with a tender bite to it.
My companions had the Lobster and beef, while I had the Trio pasta. Lobster was difficult to eat and my friend had a hard time taking out the meat from the lobster, while the presentation was lovely, it was difficult to eat. But the taste was not bad.
The beef was great! I tried a piece of it and it had a nice smokey flavor to it. We ordered medium rare - the beef was cooked nicely and every bite was a delight.
Trio pasta was lovely good too. The beef lasagne was my favorite, it was flavorful and had the right amount of beef. I wished I had more. The squid ink infused pasta with crab meat was pretty good too. Ravioli was a little small in proportion but tasted good as well.
Dessert was a little out of the ordinary, we couldn't quite figure out what the taste was. It tasted like frozen whipped cream instead of meringue. Overall we didn't like the dessert and noticed people in the other tables did not finish theirs as well.

Service - waiters refilled our glasses promptly and cleared our dishes very quickly. But there were times where service missed the mark - we asked for more bread but the guy never got back to us, waiter got the wrong order but luckily we weren't picky about it.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 19/03/2013

I went for dinner and my party got to try all 4 of the main courses offered. Everything was presented in full size like it would be when ordered ala carte, and not scaled down for restaurant week. The standard of food was good and the service was warm and attentive.

Anonymous
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Tuesday 19/03/2013

Homely authentic Italian fare, huge portions and extremely professional service. I will definitely go back again!

Jolyn Ang
Food
Service
Atmosphere
Write a review →